Saturday Workouts, Vanity Day

I know some of you are patiently waiting to see the complementary workout to 1A, which would be 1B: Heavy Leg Day, that is coming this week! Today I wanted to share with you Saturday workouts, also known as Vanity Days.

Four days out of the week we train hard. My program is split into Monday/Thursday – upper body, Tuesday/Friday -lower body. My fifth day of strength training is what we like to call a Vanity Day. Vanity days, although lower intensity, are no day at the spa! We focus on isolating the smaller muscle groups, as we call them, the vanity muscles or ones that look good on the beach!

We do this because during the week, we can’t fit every little thing into the program due to restricted time. We may hit these muscle groups a bit towards the end of a training session, but we use Saturdays to give them special attention.

Yesterday’s vanity workout took about an hour.

How to:I performed FOUR rounds of FIVE exercises in a circuit form followed by moderate cardio.

The Circuit: Work periods were 40 seconds with 20 seconds to rest/transition (one round takes 5 minutes).

The Exercise Choices (in order) for the Circuit:

  1. Dumbbell Shoulder Raise (lateral or front)
  2. Dumbbell Bicep Curls
  3. Reverse Skull Crushers (Not your average supine skull crusher, I will post a video clip of this soon).
  4. Landmine Anti Torso Rotation
  5. Weighted Calf Raises

Cardio: Immediately after the circuit, I performed rounds of jump rope paired with running. Jumping rope is a great additional way to hit the calves and shoulders more.

  • One round included two minutes of jumping rope followed by three minutes running on the treadmill at a moderate pace. Perform eight consecutive five minute rounds for a total of 40 minutes.

The above workout is of course subject to change and can be tailored toward your training needs and goals (but you get the picture!!) Feel free to supplement the exercises or cardio with your own creativity for a vanity workout!

6 responses to “Saturday Workouts, Vanity Day

  1. Alli – ps – do you like wordpress? I believe I may have made error going with blogger… appears majority may be on wordpress and if that’s case, I imagine there may be a reason for that…

    • Hi Tracy, I do not have a lot of experience with various blog sites, so it would be difficult for me to contrast and compare. I was guided to wordpress by others who used the site. That said, it seems pretty user friendly and basic- although I am investigating how to fine tune the appearance and navigation of my blog some.

  2. Thanks so much, Alli; best of luck with your figure pursuits. I may look for you on facebook and invite you to connect 🙂

  3. thanks, again, Alli; also, wasn’t sure if you were familiar with the supertraining yahoo group that the late Mel Siff had formed, thought you might find this of interest…
    http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/Supertraining/

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    • Hey Jim,

      Thank you for your interest and kind words. I hope to deliver great substance consistently and if nothing else, provide some entertainment for fitness enthusiasts all over.

      I appreciate your time to drop a comment. Keep reading!

      -Alli

Leave a Reply

