Strength Training Split, High Intensity, Part III

I thought it would be appropriate if I gave you the next segment of my high intensity training since my hamstrings are screaming at me today.

Tuesday’s are a lower body day and out of our undulating series, yesterday was a heavy day. This is the complementary workout to my upper body heavy day (1A). Workout 1B, like Workout 1A, has only a few exercises but we get our volume in multiple sets. In fact, we only did three strength exercises plus conditioning at the end.

I began my training with an Active Dynamic Warmup — this is crucial preparation for getting the most out of your workout. A dynamic warm up should be designed to increase your body temperature, fire up the CNS, activate muscles, increase mobility, prevent injury and several other benefits. I will get into this topic in a future post.

My workout yesterday went as followed:

Bulgarian Split Squat:

  • 1 body weight warm up set (6-8 reps per leg)
  • 1 light weight warm up set (6-8 reps per leg)
  • 5 sets x 6 reps per leg

(Note: I wore a weight vest during my heavy sets because my leg strength out performs my grip strength. The extra 20 pound weight vest allows me to really challenge my legs beyond my grip capabilities.)

We superset the Bulgarian Split Squats with the Glute Ham Raise, a fantastic exercise for the posterior chain.

  • 1 warm up set (with simply body weight) performing 8 reps
  • 4 heavy sets holding a dumbbell at my chest, 6 reps per set

(Note: If the added weight becomes to heavy thoughout the set, you can lower the weight to your belly button or lose it completely.)

Rest: we took about 60-90 seconds of rest between each set which allowed almost three minutes of recovery between the same exercises.

 

 

Our conditioning segment was an anaerobic, high intensity, sprint workout which I will post very soon. After conditioning, we came back to the gym floor and finished with two sets of weighted calf raises.

So there you have it. The complementary workout to Upper Body Heavy Day. Check back soon for our high intensity sprint workout, it’s one of my favorites!

7 responses to “Strength Training Split, High Intensity, Part III

  1. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  2. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  3. Hi Alli – sorry to bother you with another request! Could you give an example of your dynamic warm-ups? Thanks!

    • Hi Chris!

      Not a bother at all! Yes, I will be posting some things about a dynamic warm up in the near future. Now that the show is over, I will have a bit more time. I am also open to any requests for posts regarding training. Thanks for your request and I’ll get it out there soon!

      Take care,
      Alli

  4. I have been following Commando for some time and from the fence and have tried some of the exercises. They seem like a good fit for me and are quite challenging, and I think I am ready to purchase one program or the other (e.g TF Commando or the newer TF Warrior). I wondered if you would please comment on any differences. I am interested in some aspects of both programs. How are they different? My interest is for general fitness and martial arts.

    Appreciate whatever comments you can offer, and thanks for such extensive reviews.

    Happy Holidays

Leave a Reply

