The Yorton Cup

It’s already been 10 days since the Yorton Cup. Oh how time flies! I took a bit of a “vacation” from regimen last week and back to the regular routines yesterday. I hope I can do this recap justice with the lapse in time!

.

THANK YOU’S

Friday, November 13th was an incredible day. I owe the biggest thanks to my girl Eryn Strickland who played a major role in the final 48 hours before I walked on stage. I was on the phone with Eryn about last-minute diet advice, water manipulation, music selections, hair removal… you name it! Nick was down in Miami speaking at a conference Wednesday through Friday morning, so Eryn stepped up to the plate and took care of me the night before the show as well of the entire show day.

.

Are you familiar with the term corner man? He who assists a fighter during the length of a bout. The cornerman remains outside the combat area during the fight, but in proximity, and can assist the fighter through instruction. Eryn is my CORNERWOMAN! She’s a phenomenal competitor in this sport who competes in the NPC — Eryn gets it…the mixed emotions, excitement, nerves, crucial prep…she kept me grounded, laughing and fully equipped with whatever I needed the whole day. THANKS ERYN!!

.

Also a huge thanks to my MOM and DAD. My mom helped out with groceries and cooking for many months and my dad contributed endless grilling! Both supported me in every which way from mixed emotions, strict regimens, excitement about weekly physique changes– my mom however, really got into the sport and developed a huge appreciation this time around.  

.

Nick is always a huge component as well. It was a tight squeeze to get him to the show. He was speaking at an ECA conference in Miami as I mentioned and coincidentally wrapped up with his last lecture at 11am on Friday morning. Just in the nick of time to catch a 12:30pm flight, arrive in Baltimore at 4:40pm, hitch a ride with my mom and arrive to the venue by 5:30pm when the competitors meeting took place. My energy lit up tremendously when I walked out to see he and my mom standing in the ticket line… now my much-needed fan club was complete! Nick also helped to get me pumped up back stage before the first group comparison. We focused mainly on my shoulders and avoided areas where we didn’t want the blood flow to reduce the visual separation of the muscles (ie: legs). Although I tell him frequently, THANK YOU NICK for all of your love, support, encouragement and coaching throughout this process!

.

Thank you also to John and Blythe who sat in the audience and called out coaching cues while I was up on stage! Very helpful checkpoints! Lastly, thanks to the friends who came out to support and all my clients and co-workers who flooded my phone with good lucks and curious updates!

.

THE GLAMOUR PREP

Sylvia Tremblay comes through again! She is such a remarkable woman in this sport. Not only does she compete in FITNESS, she also has a fabulous business designing suits for female physique competitors. She is based out of Canada and has made two phenomenal suits for me this year. If anyone reading this blog is in need of a suit, I HIGHLY recommend you check out her website here. I can’t say enough about the precision and quality she puts into her suits. The fit like a glove, the fabric is top-notch and her jewel design is so classy! Sylvia also competes internationally having placed 6th in the World Championships in Italy this past year, earning her IFBB Pro Card and will be competing as a pro in the Arnold this year!

.

Those who did my make up and spray tan were awesome as well. I don’t usually wear a lot of make up, so these services were priceless to me! John and Roxana Krelka with On Stage Image were really professional, fun to work with and did a great job on the tan. Tanya with Studio 10 Cosmetics also did an awesome job with stage makeup.

.

THE SHOW RESULTS

I competed in two classes, Novice Short and Open Short. I wound up taking 2nd place in the Novice Short class and 5th place in the Open Short class. I was pleased with that. I felt that I came in with a competitive physique and there were some who came in a little more sharp depending on what the judges were looking for. This left me feeling really rewarded to place among some of these top-notch girls yet hungry to get after it and dial in a bit more for the next show! It has been really fun developing relationships with some of the competitors at the Yorton. Congrats to every girl who worked so hard!

Novice Short Class, 2nd Place

.

My feedback has been rather consistent from the judges. I have been told “To come second in such a competitive division says a lot about your preparation. I felt that your strongest attribute was your back, you had great definition and good symmetry throughout your whole body.  I also felt that your suit choice was right on target.  Overall, I would suggest that you come into your next show a little leaner throughout the whole body.” I was pleased with this as well. Knowing that the structure is there, I just need to come in a little leaner next time which can be done with diet and training. I’m really looking forward to building upon what’s already a good foundation.

.

WHAT’S NEXT??

Ah, the confusion a figure competitor can feel when her structure is all of a sudden over. What to eat? How to train? What to do with all that free time that was once spent cooking!! Well, my goal (after my hiatus last week) is to keep doing what I’ve been doing! I like the lifestyle I live. I’m going to enjoy the holidays but maintain the same clean diet the majority of the time. My training will be a bit different. That I will continue to post about my off-season training. One thing I will leak to you all now, is we will begin reintroducing more athletic style performance training. Still training heavy, for strength and for shaping…but also making sure that I can re-cultivate and maintain my athletic movement…speed, agility, quickness, balance, power…Mmmmm, I love that stuff!

.

As for the next show… I plan to do one in the spring. Which one? I will have to take a look at the list and decide based on competitive shows, location, time of year, etc. 2010 is going to be an exciting year for competing!! Thank you all for following along and I encourage you to continue!

.

Happy Holidays and warmest regards,

Alli McKee

Yorton Cup 2009

23 responses to “The Yorton Cup

  1. congrats Alli,

    you look amazing -stunning
    thanks for letting us share your journey.

    you have a big fan here in MA.
    CONGRATS and well deserved
    mark

    • Hi Mark,

      Thanks so much! Developing this blog was as enjoyable as the rest of the show training and competing. It was all part of the process and the effort. I’m pleased you enjoyed following the blog and I’m excited to cultivate more as I grow with this sport. Thank you also for your praise…This is only the beginning!

      Happy Holidays!
      Alli

  2. MY ALLI GIRL!!!!! Thank you for the shout out! I’ll be your corner woman any day!!!! It was so much fun. You did awesome and this is only the beginning….remember????

    Keep up the hard work little sis! love you!

    xo eryn

  3. Congratulations on placing 2nd and 5th! You look beautiful . Another fan here and will continue to follow your blog.

    • Thank you Alexandra! Please feel free to post anytime, ask questions, make requests for training info or just keep us posted on your own training experiences!

      Happy Holidays!
      Alli

  4. Dear Alli, Since I’ve been following Nick’s training advice and he has always spoken so highly of you, and how proud he has been all throughout and so I thought go with the man who knows,
    I followed your training and workouts. I am extremely impressed at your devotion and determination, hard work and indomitable spirit, I have never seen anyone work so hard day in and day out. You have been an inspiration to me to work harder and be more determined, to cultivate the kind of spirit that you have.
    I’m 62 and dare say am in excellent shape and even more so since I broadened my outlook of what good and effective training is due to yours and Nick’s example. It’s called modeling behavior. Pick a winner and do your best to be like them.
    Vince Gironda is an example for me or what an older guy can do and I wont be happy until at sixty-two I look as good as he looked at forty-eight(almost anyway). I originally thought it impossible but now I can accept it as a real possibility.
    I want to thank you for the inspiration that you have been to me to burn hotter in the gym and in life. Last but not least,please accept my heart felt congratulations on your remarkable showing in both categories. It’s great how you mention your mom and Nick as your inspiration and support. I’m happy for you. Personally, I say, you should have taken the gold. You look absolutely fabulous.
    I love the idea of the Greek ideal, thus my email name, Filellinas, lover of the Greeks. You have been that for me. In closing (finally, you must say) This is a short quote from Walt Whitman’s poem “I Sing the Body Electric” I hope you and Nick read the poem and use it as a source of inspiration:
    “Was it doubted that those who corrupt their own bodies conceal themselves;
    And if those who defile the living are as bad as they who defile the dead?
    And if the body does not do as much as the Soul?
    And if the body were not the Soul, what is the Soul?” Best Wishes and Congratulations. Sincerely, gene

    • Hi Gene,

      First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough, kind and thoughtful post. I am genuinely pleased that you enjoy both Nick’s and my blog. We are both very passionate about what we do and the fact that we are able to offer people this information is very rewarding…especially when one takes the time to let you know they have gotten something from it (such as yourself!).

      I have been very very fortunate to have become aligned with a few phenomenal mentors in the industry of strength and conditioning. My passion was always there, but they helped shape my philosophies and my technical knowledge. Those men are Martin Rooney (Training for Warriors and Parisi Speed School), Jason Hadeed (Elite Athlete Training Systems, who I’m saddened to say passed away in February of 2008), and Nick Tumminello (Performance University). As I cultivate my own philosphies and training, I owe a great deal of my career to the influence of these stand up guys who have taken me in and shown me so much about life and training.

      I’m so glad to hear you are staying on top of your game no matter what number reflects the time spent on this earth 🙂 Please keep me posted on your ambition to reach Vince…it’s absolutely possible! Anything is when we put our mind and spirit towards it. Our body is just the vehicle to get there…I’m finding that working consistently to our goals is the greatest tool to get there.

      Thank you also for your praise and for sharing the Walt Whitman poem. Keep training hard and don’t let the fire burn out!

      Happy Holidays to you!
      Alli

  5. Hey Ali! I just added you to my favorite blogs on mine.

  6. Pingback: Valuable Lessons ( we can ALL use) from Figure Athletes About Learning, Living and Training « Nick Tumminello Fitness | Baltimore Personal Trainer | Men's Health Best Personal Trainer

  7. Congrats Alli! Looks like all your hard work paid off! I’ve enjoyed following you on your journey and look forward to following you on your next one.

    • Hey Kerry! Thanks!! Yes, the next show prep will begin in early 2010 (although I’m still being mindful now). In the meantime, i hope to post some general training knowledge about athletic performance, the importance of a good warm up and more!

      Alli

  8. Hey congrats mate!You look absolutely fabulous!

  9. Alli, You look amazing! Congrats! I’m doing my first show in April, you’re blog has helped me keep focus during this phase of my strength training. Thank you for sharing!

    • Hi Jenn!

      Thanks! Best of luck and enjoy your prep for your first show! Where are you competing and in what show? Please feel free to keep us posted !

      Happy Holidays!
      Alli

    • p.s. Jenn, there may come many times when we need to keep focus during our training and diet…especially when the time frame to be disciplined can span so long….make sure you keep your support group close by!! Remember the reasons you signed up for this committment and challenge. It is so rewarding and tells you so much about your spirit and will power when you can push through the tough moments. Dont let negativity or temptation get into your brain!! So feel free to touch base anytime you need a little extra push forward!

  10. Wow! I’m not sure how I found your blog but i’m so glad I did!

    You look terrific. They must have been going for a less muscular look?

    I’m at that what to do now after the competition stage myself.

    Good Luck to you!

    • Hi April!

      So glad you found the blog as well!! Where do you compete? and for how long have you been doing so?

      I’m still operating on a diet and training structure similar to show season because I like how it makes me feel. I’m not carb cycling, but still keeping it very clean most of the time. I’m also starting to incorporate more athletic performance into my training to keep my movement, power and coordination sharp in the off season.

      Thanks for your post and feel free to keep in touch!

      Happy Holidays,
      Alli

      • I’ve done 2 OCB shows in Indianapolis. 1 NPC figure in Illinois and this last one was NPC bikini. It’s addicting LOL! I love the last month and watching my body change so much.

        Your workouts look brutal! I eat clean all the time as well. It just feels better.

        My first comp was in Sept of 2007.

  11. “Movement, power, coordination.” I agree. To me, firstly those results of training are the goals that I keep my eyes on. What one can achieve athletically, the comfort in doing things well, the balance and demeanor one gets from training are the ultimate goals. I believe that one’s muscularity and form are strictly dependent on the health and underlying structure of the body. Fix what’s broken first, get everything where it’s supposed to be, perform natural functional movements as much as possible, improve one’s cardiovascular health and general state of health by eating and living clean. Then I think, all along the way symmetrical, balanced muscular growth will be possible and the natural grace, form and beauty of the human body can be realized. God, nature or whatever one chooses to call the source of this gift of life will support us and what we do will be blessed and reflect our joy and gratitude for the gifts we have received. You said it Alli, you like how it makes you feel. That ultimately is what it’s all about. Thanks to both you and Nick for teaching me so much about how to achieve these goals and be humble and grateful. Wishing you both health and happiness. gene

  12. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • Hi and thanks so much Christian! Stick around, I hope to continue delivering great information!

      Cheers back 🙂
      Alli

  13. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

Leave a Reply

