Q&A #2: Laying out the program, Part I

Throughout the majority of my show training, I followed a daily undulated training scheme in an upper/lower split. I have explained in previous posts WHY we chose to do the daily undulated program as well as HOW the training session for each style of the workouts were structured. The posts about my specific training are somewhat spread out among other topics within the blog and I have since been asked to consolidate a layout. Again, I thought this would be of interest to several readers, so thanks Gene for your question!

.

Q:If you could make/show a chart of your workouts so we all could see how they all fit together, that would be great.”

.

A: I am not too “blog” savvy so unfortunately, I have not constructed and inserted a good-looking, easy-to-read “chart” but I am able to list things out 🙂 . I certainly hope this is clear and suffice, please feel free to shoot me questions for clarification if needed!!

.

The following program is what I followed for many weeks while preparing for the Yorton Cup Figure Competition. I adhered to this scheme right up until four weeks before show day. If desired, I will also post more details about the last four weeks of my training in a future post. Enjoy!

.

 Upper/Lower Split Routine:

Monday
A.M. fasted cardio (about 30-35 min)
P.M. upper body push/pull training plus conditioning

Tuesday
A.M. fasted cardio (about 30-35 min)
P.M. lower body training plus conditioning

Wednesday
“active rest day” – cardio, any form, 30-45 minutes, moderate intensity

Thursday
A.M. fasted cardio (about 30-35 min)
P.M. upper body push/pull training plus conditioning

Friday
P.M. lower body training plus conditioning

Saturday
Vanity Day – a lower intensity day. Primary focus on the smaller muscle groups (shoulder raises, biceps, triceps, calves, abs). Cardio to follow, usually jump rope/running intervals for about 40 minutes

Sunday
Complete rest day

.

Daily Undulation:

We cycled my upper and lower workouts with the following set and rep scheme. Using this method, I would train six sessions before ever repeating a particular training session. (Great for minimizing physical stagnation or mental boredom!)

5-6 sets, 4-6 repsHeavy day/high intensity on the nervous system
3-4 sets, 8-12 reps – Medium rep range/moderate intensity
2-3 sets, 15-25 reps – High rep/endurance

EXAMPLE: Week 1
Monday – upper push/pull – 5-6 sets, 4-6 reps
Tuesday – lower body – 5-6 sets, 4-6 reps
Thursday – upper push/pull – 3-4 sets, 8-12 reps
Friday – lower body – 3-4 sets, 8-12 reps
Saturday – vanity day (always high or med rep)

Week 2:
Monday – upper push/pull – 2-3 sets, 15-25 reps
Tuesday – lower body – 2-3 sets, 15-25 reps
Thursday – upper push/pull – 5-6 sets, 4-6 reps
Friday – lower body – 5-6 sets, 4-6 reps
Saturday – vanity day (always high or med rep)
…and so on…

.

As you can see, this is just the strength part of my program. I will give you the secrets to my conditioning layout in Part II 🙂

4 responses to “Q&A #2: Laying out the program, Part I

  1. Thanks for this, Alli. It’s helpful for my own non-contest training. Out of curiosity, anything you’d do differently next time? Did shoulders/arms get enough direct stimulation following this scheme?

    Congrats again! What an achievement!

    • Hi Kathleen, thanks!

      I’m sure we will do things a little differently next time. Perhaps not in principles but based on what changes I need in my physique, where my strengths and weaknesses are, etc.

      I am about to get back in the compeition training season by mid January or the begining of February. I plan to compete in a show in May. I will be keeping you all posted on that training and journey as well.

      I wish I had a better answer for you! I think each show I train for will be fine tuned in terms of program design and my physique! I am just as eager to find out how it goes as you are!!

      As for shoulders/arms, I think they will continue to develop from a muscle maturity standpoint and building upon a foundation that has started to be developed 🙂

      I will keep you posted though! Good luck to you and keep me posted on you!

      Alli

  2. Are you doing 2-3 sets or 5-6 sets total, for a days training?

    thanks & good luck!

    • Hi Kyle,

      As I mentioned, I cycled my training, so on certain days, I performed 2-3 sets, on other days it was 5-6 sets. I did this to work different muscle fibers, energy systems and vary the intensity on my body. It also helped to keep my body for adapting to one range of demand.

      Check out the post again, I wrote an example of how I cycled my workouts throughout the week 🙂

      Thanks for your question and for clarifying!

      Alli

Leave a Reply

