German Volume Training

Nick, Mark and I have trained hard on our latest program for about four weeks now. Although our bodies are starting to feel the cumulative effects of hard training, we still show up every day with the intent to push new limits! This week was no different.

.

Similar to my show training, we are on an undulating program. The difference this time is the frequency of undulation–rather than a daily undulation, we are rotating through a weekly cycle. For example, week 2 was Medium Rep range. Week 3 was Low Rep/Contrast Training and this week (week 4) was High Volume, High Rep training.

.

In today’s training, we followed the German Volume Training idea. For those of you who are unfamiliar, it’s 10 sets of 10 reps. Respective to leg day today, the three of us cycled through barbell back squats. The big boys could handle a good bit of weight on the bar. Personally, I have to error on the side of caution when doing squats because I’ve had a few low back tweaks in the past. That said, I am happy to have completed 135lbs for ten sets, which is a bit more than my body weight. On the tenth set, I did a burn out of 25 reps…Not a bad effort and I know I made Nick a proud boyfriend and training partner 🙂

.

If you haven’t done this before, give it a try for a new challenge. Basic notes again, 10 sets of 10 reps. Choose a weight that is challenging and relative to the cummulative volume of reps!

4 responses to “German Volume Training

  1. Hi Allie,

    I’ve heard/read a bit about German Volume training but have never tried it. When training this way, do you only perform the 10 reps/10 sets on one exercise (squats) and then do a more traditional set/rep scheme on your other leg exercises for the day?

    I suppose this is individual depending on a person’s ability to recover, but how many times per week can one train this way?

    By the way, I read Nick’s contrast training article on T-nation; great stuff! I’m going to try to incorporate this type of training into my program.

    • Hi Alexandra,

      Good question and to be honest, I don’t have a “right or wrong” answer for you. Personally, when we have done this, we chose a “focus exercise” for the day and with the proper intensity, that’s enough for a days work! 🙂

      So no, I would not follow 10 sets of 10 squats with 10 sets of 10 lunges, deadlifts or leg extenstions! I did however add my usual conditioning to the end of the session — on Friday (after the squats) I used the slide board for interval rounds at a moderate intensity and some lateral movement.

      And yes, Nick’s articles always provide great stuff too! 😉

      Enjoy the new training challenges!

      Alli

  2. Very inspiring Allie, you are a legend 🙂 I look forward to reading more about your training. Keep up the great posts!

    • Thanks for posting such positive feedback Kat! I’m glad you enjoy the blog. I checked out your blog and website as well…great stuff too! Best of luck to you and keep in touch 🙂

      Alli

Leave a Reply

