Metabolic Leg Challenge

I’ve got a great strength and conditioning challenge to share with you all today that includes squats, lunges, plyometric jumps, sled drags and sprints. It’s sure to satisfy the best of those who (like me) desire a heart throbbing, wind sucking, leg crumbling, mental challenge to the finish line!

.

.

The above circuit that you just watched was something Nick, of Performance University, designed a few years back. He used to hold P.T.A sessions once a month for high level clients which stood for Pain. Torture. and Agony! I am gearing up for my show training to begin on May 10th, but until then, we are still training hard and with a purpose. That session was purely to have fun, work hard and sync with my lower body day.

.

To complete this on your own, the following are the challenge parameters:

1. Super Legs Variation

  • 24 Squats (body weight or light weight added)
  • 24 Lunges (forward or reverse, body weight or light weight added)
  • 24 Split box jumps
  • 6 Plyometric jumps

2. Sled Drag 40 yards

3. Sprint 40 yards x 4

The above series is considered ONE round. Rest as needed between exercises, but complete one round in as little time as possible. Rest 3-5 minutes between full rounds. If you’ve never done any training like this before, begin with 1 to 2 rounds the first attempt. Eventually progress to three rounds. If you are more familiar with this metabolic training style, you could progress all the way up to five rounds. Due to the high intense nature of this type of training, I recommend only performing this type of workout for no more than 3-4 weeks at a time, 1 day per week.

.

Lastly, the song in my video is “Excuses” by The Jon Bailey Band, a very talented group from the Baltimore area. If you, like me, are always looking for great new music to train to, you can check them out on their website here.

21 responses to “Metabolic Leg Challenge

  1. You are the woman! Will have to try this out.

  2. finally a post….nice!!
    Love your blog….keep it up girl!

  3. That’s really inspired me for the day – especially the build up of internal tension waiting for you to sprint back – love it!! 🙂

  4. Thank you all! Your feedback is much appreciated and I am glad to be providing new material or simply motivation! More to come soon! Let me know how the challenge goes when you try it!! Or feel free to post a challenge you love 🙂

    -Alli

  5. Gurl – You know how to leave it all on the floor! Now for the lunges and split box jumps is that 24 each leg?

    • Hey Giselle!

      Great question… it’s 12 lunges per leg (24 total) and 12 split box jumps per leg (24 total) 🙂

      Thanks for clarifying and good luck with training!

      -Alli

  6. Bring back the tire… bring back the tire! 🙂

  7. How long do you rest between sprints?

    • Hi and thanks for your question! For this particular sequence, I recommend taking as little rest as needed between sprints. I have clients run through the cone (not change direction at the cone), walk back to the cone, reset and sprint. Take as much rest as needed between sprints, but at the same time, as LITTLE rest as you need 🙂 Rest 3-5 minutes between full rounds.

      Good luck!
      Alli

  8. I love your blog, Alli. I wish you weren’t so busy so you could update it daily!

    Same goes for Nick 🙂

    • Hey Chris,

      It’s always nice to hear people want more 🙂 and I will do my best to update more frequently! Feel free to leave requests for training topics, questions, videos, etc.

      Thanks!
      Alli

  9. I would love to see more videos regarding your dynamic warm-up(s)!

  10. By the way, I have a few questions for you regarding something you might be able to help me out with. Too much to write here. Can you e-mail me? Thanks.

  11. hi alli!
    my friend laurel (my training partner) told me all about you and sent me over to the blog. wow! you are an inspiration. thanks for all the videos and motivation. i’ll be sure to check back often and whenever i need that little extra push. hope to meet you one day!

    • Hey Annie!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂 glad you enjoy the blog. Do you train with Laurel at the MAC?

      Have a great day and keep training hard!!
      Alli

  12. That is an insane circuit and you rock for being able to do it! I’m pretty well conditined, I think, but something like this would probably leave me out of commision for days.

    If I strength train 4 days per week, how/where would I include this and not hamper recovery? For example, my weekly training might look like this:

    Mon: upper
    Tues: lower
    Wed: rest
    Thurs: upper
    Fri: conditioning or moderate cardio
    Sat: lower
    Sun: rest

    Thanks for your thoughts.

    Alexandra

    • Hi Alexandra!

      Thanks for your question.. and I’m sure you will handle this challenge just fine 🙂

      Your weekly training breakdown looks great! If I were to suggest a day to incorporate this, I would definitely do it on a lower body day. Tuesday even looks a bit better over Saturday because you have an extra day of rest on your lower body before hitting legs again on Saturday.

      Keep us posted on how you do! Or any other conditioning challenges you love 🙂

      Have a great week!
      Alli

  13. Hi Alli,

    I just found your site through youtube (performanceU) and was wondering what exercise I could do in place of the sled drag? My gym doesnt have anything like that and I don’t here at my home gym either.

    I love metabolic training and am definately going to incorporate a version of this into my routine

    Thank you 🙂

    Chelle

  14. Hi Chelle,

    I’m glad you stumbled upon this blog and thanks for posting your question. Unfortunately, I don’t think anything can ultimately replace the sled.. to me, it’s a staple piece for training 🙂 BUT, if you are without one, you could try a few things:
    1. In place of the sled pull, you could try a plate push. Although different angles and muscle focus, still great for the challenge and metabolic response.
    2. If you’re at your home gym and have a concrete stretch outside of your house, you could go get a tire, a chain and a harness and create your own! (see the pictures at the top of my blog)
    3. You could try partnering up with someone, put your hands on their shoulders, you should be around the same body angle as the sled pull–they walk backwards and manually offer resistance as you push and take large strides.

    Make sense?

    Thanks again and good luck!

    –Alli

Leave a Reply

