Fighting for Every Inch

Good News! A short follow up from the last post.. Despite what we found on the MRI (a slight disk bulge between L5 & S1) I am feeling better and have the “Green Light” from my body to move forward with this show prep. I am so grateful to be able to continue what I’ve started. At this time, I am under care of my physical therapist a few times per week, but I am training again and I am dieting full speed.

That all said, this post comes from the heart today, not the gym floor. I forgot what a tough job this is! Until you are in the thick of competing, you sometimes forget what’s it’s like to cook massive amounts of food, wash loads and loads of dishes. I forgot what it was like to stay up late and get up early just to fit everything into a days work. On top of that, it’s been a tremendous learning curve to incorporate new dieting methods / details and a huge time demand curve. Opportunities are popping up for more work, writing, consulting and Fresh Karat as well. I am very grateful. I seem however, to have lost a few of my boundaries with time and my balance of work and relaxation. I was overwhelmed to say the least with the incorporation of my newest focus over the last few days. After a good night sleep, I reminded myself of these thoughts and came to the following perspective:

(1) To compete for this season, is my newest job right now. This show prep is for a fixed period of time and it is very demanding but I have signed up for it. If this was easy, everyone would do it. I have signed up to commit to every effort, every detail and every bit of dedication that goes into a successful outcome.

(2) I love this saying – “QUALITY – Countless, unseen details are often the only difference between mediocre and magnificent!!” This is what we do, day in and day out, in public and in private. These details are what count.

(3) At the fitness conference last weekend, I had the pleasure to listen to Martin Rooney talk about integrity, sacrifice, being “comfortable being uncomfortable.” He talked about digging deep into his athletes drive…what drove his athletes to want to play in the NFL. Not the money, not the fame, but what really drove them at the core. The answers were very personal and emotional. Those reminders couldn’t have come at a better time. Last night, feeling very overwhelmed, I had to ask myself – “why am I doing this?” and through my tears, I had found my answer… “because it’s NOT easy”. I am doing this because I’m PROUD to work through the tough moments. I’m doing this because I love to train. I’m doing this because I love the structure. I’m doing this because it pushes my mental toughness. It’s not just the perfect diet or the perfect program that makes us succeed, what good would they be if we didn’t have the follow through? The ability to persevere?!

(4) The last thing I’ll leave you with today is this. It’s a 4 minute and 43 second speech. One of the best out there to pump one up for teamwork and a personal fight. I love this message. I understand it pertains to football in this video, but I believe we all have our own football game. We’re all part of a team, have individual responsibilities and we all have our own opponents who are working hard to kick our ass on the field, court or stage.

Fight for every inch!

Persevere – to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a purpose in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.

4 responses to “Fighting for Every Inch

  1. So TRUE! What makes the sport of figure competition so rewarding is the determination to follow through! If it was easy, everyone would be doing it…keep it up!

    Thanks for posting! 🙂

  2. This post couldn’t have come at a better time. I am half way through my 6th week of very strict carb cycling and beginning to wonder if the results are worth dealing with a dwindling support group. Thank you for the reminder that this was a choice and I can perservere.

    • Hi Yvonna!

      Thanks for your comment! I’m so pleased to hear this post helped in any way. Hang in there! It’s difficult and very mental. It’s also character building and rewarding on numerous levels! One meal and one day at a time 🙂 As for the support group, if not in your immediate environment, there are supportive figure athletes out there everywhere. Find them!! Good luck and keep us posted on your show!

      Best,
      Alli

Leave a Reply

