“True Victory Is Victory Over Oneself”

Who am I? I am a CHAMPION.


No body said the road to the stage was a pretty one. No body said it was easy. It’s down right hard. There are times when we need reminders to pick ourselves up, keep going and dig deeper.

I am early (very early) into the prep for The Arnold Classic Figure Competition in March 2011. Already, I have met mild mental interferences. People ask me, “why do you do this?!” I used to view it negatively, as though they didn’t understand. How could they not see the glory in setting a goal, working your butt off and seeing it through to the finish line despite adversity and challenges. Perhaps it was my fault for interpreting this the wrong way. Now I look at the question as an opportunity for a subtle reminder to myself as to why I do this.

I like to think I’m good at what I do. Through the journey of a goal, we meet challenge. It is especially at this time we must remember WHY we have set out on this journey.

I didn’t acknowledge until today, that the process from now until the Arnold intimidates me. I assumed I have done this before and I’ll do it again no problem. It’s a bigger stage and bigger competition. You may find I write more on this blog over the next 16 weeks on the topic of motivation. Perhaps I’m writing to myself…and hopefully, it impacts the reader too.

I realized today, that we need to treat each set back or mild mental interference as just that. An individual occasion. It’s not a representation of the journey and goal as a whole. It is not a time to let it fester or worse, give up. It is an opportunity to get through it and be stronger because of it. It is a time where we may have to let things ride it’s course. Do something to relax, reassess, re-motivate and understand that this tough moment to shall pass. Be it a song, a book, a speech, a picture or a person who motivates us – tap into that when you’re doubting your mental (or physical) ability.

With the Arnold Classic, I feel pressure, fear and challenge. Along with those emotions I feel excitement, drive, focus, compliance, pride and passion.

I admire the fight in a fighter. This weekend, friends of mine are fighting in Baltimore’s Shogun Fights. These guys train out of Ground Control and they have endured practice, strength and conditioning, injuries, dieting to make weight and above all – pressure to perform well. They have gone to great extremes to be prepared for Saturday and it’s highly impressive. They are ready. Good Luck Ryan Mackin and Binky!

An NFL football player must live to study plays, upcoming teams and direct opponents. they must train to stay healthy, perform optimally and maintain a level of excellence above the next guy gunning for his position. They must play despite injuries or personal problems. They are passionate professionals.

All athletes experience highs and lows. It is having the right attitude and showing up everyday.

I show up. I do my best for that day. I see my goal through and hope to advance each time around.

That is why I do this. Because I like the goal. I like the structure of training and I like the road of challenge – it’s not easy and it’s not always pretty – but it’s a hell of a good feeling when we get back up a little stronger and a little smarter than before.

I share with you a video that motivates me. To me, this video is powerful. Not just the great quotes, but the music itself. It fires me up! If you don’t care to watch the fight, don’t miss the messages – below are the quotes within.


“A man who conquers himself is greater than one who conquers a thousand men in battle” – Buddha

“Champions aren’t made in gyms, Champions are made from something they have deep inside them; A desire, A dream, A vision.” – Muhammad Ali

“Fall down 7 times, get up 8” – Japanese Proverb

“The greatest test of courage on earth is to bear defeat without losing heart”

“True strength is not always shown through Victory, stand up, try again and display strength of heart” – Rickson Gracie

“Courage is doing what you’re afraid to do. There is no courage unless you’re scared.”

“Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently” – Henry Ford

“The joy of Victory is too short to live for that and nothing else”

“Victory is reserved for those who are willing to pay it’s price”

“Don’t believe that winning is everything. It’s more important to stand for something. If you don’t stand for something, what do you win?”

“Pain is temporary, pride is forever.”

“True victory is victory over oneself.” 

18 responses to ““True Victory Is Victory Over Oneself”

  1. Alli,

    This is exactly the type of motivation I needed today. Good luck to you in your Arnold competition. Wherever the judges place you, you will be the winner…victory over oneself.

    You go, girl!

    • Thanks Mindi! I just sent in my entry form for the Arnold yesterday!! I’m glad this post resonated with you and gave you an additional boost for the day 🙂
      Take excellent care,
      Alli

  2. Damn babe, this is one a heck of a great read!
    Now I’m pumped to go train! I think we all need to read stuff like this more often.

  3. As usual, perfect timing. 3 weeks from my first powerlifting competition and struggling to make my weight goals while keeping the strength up. This reminded me why I picked this battle and why I will be able to make it.

    Thanks

    • Yvonna,
      Best of luck in your first powerlifting competition!! Thanks for sharing! I’m sure you will do FANTASTIC! 3 weeks can be a lot of time when you are focused and working purposefully toward your goal. Thank you for commenting and I’m glad the post came at a great time. Keep me posted on your competition 🙂

      Keep training and best of luck!

      Alli

  4. Pingback: Good Reads for the Week « Bret's Blog

  5. Alli,
    Though I don’t train like you, this blog was so applicable to what I’m currently facing. I believe that you were inspired by a higher power and are being used as a vessel to reach others. Thank you for allowing yourself to hang it out there… unabashedly! I’m cheering for you!

    • Hi Flea,
      I think people need to see/hear/read that it’s not a flawless journey, but having the right attitude and the strength to continue towards whatever it is that’s important despite challenge. There is a quote I like from one of my mentors Martin Rooney. He says “The essence of training is the experience of training and what you learn about yourself through it. Training is about the process. You will get there and there is one simple thing to do it. Consistency.” (and really, this could be relevant to any goal.)

      Hang in there with whatever your working on 🙂 and thanks for the kind words and support!
      Alli

  6. I love this post. Inspiring for you and me both. And in such a bigger way than just your contest prep. Your strategy for dealing with setbacks and mild mental interference was a perfect reminder for me today. Thank you!

    My favorite quote: “Courage is doing what you’re afraid to do. There is no courage unless you’re scared.”

    • Hi Dru,
      Thank you for commenting. My favorite quote is also the one about courage (as well as the victory over oneself) 🙂 I’m so pleased you found the post helpful and inspiring – to me, that is very rewarding!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention “True Victory Is Victory Over Oneself” | Alli McKee Fit to Figure -- Topsy.com

  8. Thank you for sharing feelings and issues so many of us go through alone. Even though many of us can not be there with you, you have a lot of us supporting you.

  9. Pingback: Blog-watch: regaining motivation

  10. Pingback: Bret Contreras » Good Reads for the Week

Leave a Reply

