A Figure Athlete’s Warrior Spirit

“Risin’ up, back on the street, Did my time, took my chances. Went the distance, now I’m back on my feet, Just a woman and her will to survive.

Face to face, out in the heat, Hangin’ tough, stayin’ hungry. They stack the odds ’til we take to the street, For we kill with the skill to survive.

Risin’ up, straight to the top, Have the guts, got the glory. Went the distance, now I’m not gonna stop, Just a woman and her will to survive”

– Eye of the Tiger, Survivor

Good news! On Friday night, November 19th, I received my official acceptance letter to the Arnold Amateur IFBB Figure Championships at the Arnold Classic for 2011. This is incredible!

I began the Arnold journey on November 1st. In reality however, I began back in October 2009 when I was training with my posing coach for the OCB Yorton Cup. I said to him, “I’m going to go to the Arnold in 2011” – and my goodness, here I am 🙂

I have come to conclude that facing challenge and adversity is an absolute part of the formula when in competition, goal setting and personal growth. It may not come in the same shape, size or form for everyone – but it’s there and you can count on it. How you deal with it, is another component – and that comes from YOU.

To me the formula looks something like this:

GOAL + HARD WORK + PASSION + HONESTY + SUPPORT SYSTEMS + ADVERSITY / CHALLENGE + FOCUS + POSITIVE  ATTITUDE + COMMITTMENT TO ONESELF = SUCCESS.

In the recent weeks, I have faced challenge yet again, but what better time to find strength in yourself and from those around you to keep moving forward on your goals.

Take for example, the Olympic skater from Canada, Joannie Rochette. Just days before her time to compete, her mom passed away.

“Though she was blinking hard her first few laps around the ice, Rochette quickly settled into her practice routine. She showed no lapses in concentration, jumped well and did a light run-through of her tango short program, even flashing a saucy smile at one point. In the stands, her father repeatedly rubbed his eyes.”

Joannie claimed an Olympic medal. To me, that is the pinnacle of amazing strength, heart and staying true to yourself and your goals.

In talking with my father, he said “if you can channel the energies from the challenging experience in a positive way, it can serve as a motivational springboard for recovery and personal growth.” (thanks dad) 🙂

My mom recited a quote to me last night (bless that wonderful woman too) from an episode of parenthood: “Life will knock you down more times than you can possibly imagine. Don’t knock yourself down!

I have a wonderful group of teammates from my family, friends, co-workers, clients, advisors, (you readers) and the spiritual protection from my Strength and Conditioning Guardian Angel, Jason Hadeed.

In this upcoming season, I plan to develop three things: my personal self, my professional self and of course, my physical self.

This is going to be an incredible journey as I am going to see my strength rise both in the gym and in my heart and spirit. It is empowering. I can’t wait to get to the stage in March – it’s going to be the most rewarding performance yet. My client said to me last week, “often times, the hardest things are the most rewarding” – Mr. Cleary, you are right.

If you enjoy following this blog, you can also find me on Twitter for 140 characters of quotes, training and positive progress. 🙂 My account is @AlliMcKeeFit

Thank you friends for your time. Cheers to the Warrior Spirit in us all!

7 responses to “A Figure Athlete’s Warrior Spirit

  1. Wow, Alli! I am so excited for you, as you got that invite to the Arnold Amateur. I would say that the A.A. is one of THE toughest competitions for NPC athletes. You will look tremendous, because your mindset is in the proper place.

    Keep inspiring!

    • Thank you Mindi! I know!! The excitement and pride is really starting to sink in. I can not believe I’m on my way.. but I am thrilled and ready to work hard for my “superbowl.” I’m thrilled to share it with people like you!

      Thank you always,
      Alli

  2. I’m glad I stumbled upon this blog – I needed a little hit of inspiration!

    I wish you the best for March and look forward to reading more about your road to the Arnold!

    • Thank you so much and I’m pleased you stumbled across the blog too! I’m glad you found something helpful too 🙂

      My best to you,
      Alli

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Figure Athlete’s Warrior Spirit | Alli McKee Fit to Figure -- Topsy.com

  4. I’m totally enjoying reading your blog posts Alli. You’re such an inspiration! I especially love your Mum’s quote!! It’s so simply brilliant!

Leave a Reply

