I Must Eat My Words

I have a confession friends: for the first time in a while, I must eat my words! I am however, very excited to arrive at this current decision and I can’t wait to shout it from the roof tops and start hustling in a semi-new and refreshed direction 😉

Just last week, I gave a long-winded spiel about having goals, training for them, mastering new disciplines or methods, etc. I was forecasting over the next four months, I would live on as a Figure Competitor aiming for Team Universe (figure nationals) in July.

Well, I am a thinker and have continued to spin that wheel of thought in my head. I continued to do some “soul searching” and took a hard look at what my bigger goals really were. How I wanted to train myself? How I wanted to spend my time and energy? Where I wanted to grow my career? And ultimately – what I saw myself identifying with most?!

As of Monday, I actually arrived at the decision to take a break from competing for an indefinite amount of time (Gasp!) 😉

Over the past two and half years, I have had a really good time entertaining the challenges of the Figure Competitions and gaining a lot of knowledge about myself, nutrition and training. Not to mention, changing my physique and the wonderful people I have met along the way…all great experiences and gifts.

What became more clear in the last few days however, is my love for the strength and conditioning industry. That’s where I feel I belong right now. That’s how I want to spend my time. That’s how I want to train and what I want to study and that’s the direction I want my career to go in.

When I came home from the Arnold, I was in full speed momentum from the show. Naturally, I shifted my sights to the very next challenge and progression. As the dust settled (and just after I wrote last week’s blog post of course) – a few things became more clear….

1. In order to get an ultra competitive physique for the national level, I was going to have to change the way I was training in order to streamline my physique more – come in tinier. This meant trying a new method of very high reps (20-30) and naturally, less weight. After giving a few weeks to this style, I wasn’t feeling as satisfied with my training sessions and thought to myself- ‘I started in Figure because I love to train. Now that Figure is dictating how I have to train – do I want to do this right now??’
 
2. Figure competitions are also a whole-hearted commitment. I was getting mildly concerned I may lose touch with a bit of my involvement in the strength and conditioning industry if I continued this path to the top and I was missing it – so it became apparent where my heart was and where I need to spend my focus in terms of my career.
 
3. Finally, for the past two plus years, I have given a lot of energy and structure to the sport of competing. Now I’m excited to turn my attention into manifesting my life in other areas, especially my career in hopes to expand myself with the clients I train at FX Studios and bigger opportunities / responsibilities with Under Armour. Not to mention, I think I am going to enjoy taking a little bit of the pressure off and living a 28-year-old social life!
 
I embrace and respect the physique community so much – for their passions, how hard they work and for everything they dedicate to the sport. It has been a tremendous learning experience and has provided me the tools to really change my shape. I would never say I’m retiring, but I‘m excited to see where this new direction takes me.

What can you expect in the future???

Well, for starters, I am on my way to completing my C.S.C.S. I’ll also be working on the return of my athletic training in the gym (which will of course, have a plan!). I don’t want to stop being one of the stronger girls in the gym! I want to continue to look the part and move the part. Today, someone wrote me a line asking if I ran with the tires… he said “you’re such a small bundle to be that powerful“…that made me laugh because that‘s exactly how I want to be perceived!

So welcome back deadlifts, back squats, front squats, DB snatches, cleans, pull ups, push press, sled drags, prowler sprints, hill sprints, 300 sprints, etc! In the meantime, I’ll still be working hard on the dietary side to keep myself lean and performing optimally.

You can also expect I‘ll be posting more on my own training again, interesting finds on the topics of strength / conditioning and of course, motivational thought. I‘ll also be sharing my dietary efforts to stay in ship-shape and what meal plans, recipes and food pairings I come up with after having learned so much from Body Transformation expert, Carter Schoffer.

As with anything in life, things change. 🙂 It’s been a long time since I’ve broken out of the routine of a Figure Competitor. In fact, over the past year, I have taken only eight weeks off. I am excited to see my dreams more clearly and pursue them freely. My client and I were chatting this morning about how so many adults wish to be a kid again. We were saying how great it is to be an adult and have 100% freedom to make the decisions and changes we desire in order to create the life we want. 🙂

More strength and conditioning to come!! 😀

p.s. If you haven’t seen her yet, check out Jen Grasso’s website, Renegade Fitness. She is an extension of Jason Ferruggia’s Renegade Strength and Conditioning. Jen combines ultra femininity with being a badass chic in the gym! Check out her stuff!

19 responses to “I Must Eat My Words

  1. Full respect to you Alli, I totally understand where you are coming from! I’m wrestling with this decision myself. I too love the figure world, but love lifting heavy and doing all those great exercises you mentioned! Such a pull! Especially when you work in the industry. Really enjoyed reading where you’re at, thanks for sharing so honestly. Look forward to more updates from Alli land 🙂

    • Thanks Kat, I’m excited to charge forward and upward and to share great things with the fitness world 🙂 It’s always cool to see what we are capable of manifesting when we put our minds to it and also when we ask for things! It’s great that there are only few things in life that are “permanent” so we do have the option to make U-turns if we choose… Good luck following your heart / instincts too! Talk soon!

  2. Great Job Alli –you always speak from the heart! Your passion for fitness always comes out with everything you write. You have the focus and drive to do anything you want —

    Good luck with everything —look forward to working with you again!
    thanks for all your help
    mh

    • Thanks so much Mark, and yes, I love this stuff so much, I can’t contain it! 🙂 I’m definitely motivated to see what I can learn and what I can provide over the next year plus! I hope hockey, training and life in general are all excellent. Keep in touch anytime!!!

  3. “We were saying how great it is to be an adult and have 100% freedom to make the decisions and changes we desire in order to create the life we want.”

    Damn skippy!

    It’s a brave play to slow down in a world that’s seemingly always pushing at your to move at all costs and figure out what direction you actually want to go in. I’m excited to see your progress in this industry *high five*

    • LOL! You make me laugh everytime Rog… “jump” high five back atcha! 😉
      ps. I think it’s a powerful thing to take a leap of faith, get after something you love and get the personal feedback that you can do it and do it well! I hope we cross paths at another fitness conference in the future!

  4. I love this post! I only did one competition and I loved it. But I think you definitely have to decide where you’re going and what you’re doing with your body and your life. I’m sure it was not an easy decision but clearly a well thought out one. Can’t wait to hear more about your training and nutrition. I love reading your blog and as Mark says above, “your passion for fitness really comes across in your writing. ” I agree completely! I’ll keep following along. Excited to see what happens next!

    • Hi Erin!!! Thanks 🙂 I can’t wait to continue to learn more, live it more and deliver more! Are you a trainer as well?

      • Nope, I’m not. Well, not to anyone but myself and a few friends. But I, myself, am trying to figure out what my next step is. I would really love to do something with sports nutrition since food is my passion and I love working out too. I’m currently doing the sports nutrition certification through Precision Nutrition and I’m loving it. We’ll see where I end up. Thanks for asking and inspiring!

    • Erin, I love the topic of sports nutrition too. I have thought about either going back for my masters in that field or doing the PN cert…but one thing at a time for me! I LOVE the Precision Nutrition ways. I have learned a tremendous amount from Carter (who works closely with John Berardi) and I often direct my clients to the PN system. I think it’s a healthy, smart and balanced way to eat. Good luck in the cert and continuing to map everything out!

  5. Yippee! I have to admit I’m sooo excited to hear you’ll be back to hardcore training and proving that women can be strong, smart, beautiful and devoted to what they love — all at once! Have you ever considered competing in Physique? Who knows how that one will pan out, but if one day you want to get back on the stage, maybe that would let you train intensely. But no need to rush into anything. At 28, you’ve got so much ahead of you. I’m, eek, up there around 40 and I’d say just go for what seems right now and enjoy the ride, because there’s time to explore lots of different things in life.

    • Thanks Rosie! Yup…I’m BACK! I’m looking forward to seeing how things continue to pan out. There was also a very special man in my life who passed away a few years ago. He was an amazing Strength and Conditioning coach and I vowed to myself when he passed that I would continue to carry his torch and do the best damn job that I could… I am so happy inside to continue on that promise 🙂

      • I am sorry to hear about the loss of your friend, but I am very sure he would be proud of you.

  6. “Look like art – perform like a machine!”

  7. Pingback: OPTIMUM PERFORMANCE KETTLEBELLS

Leave a Reply

